Friday, September 5, 2014

Google Classroom: Resetting Teacher Permissions

Google Classroom: Resetting Teacher Permissions
The first time a teacher visits Google Classroom they will be asked if they are a teacher or a student. If for some reason the teacher selects "student" they will find that they are unable to create classes; they can only join them. Students who select "teacher" will have the ability to created classes.

Fixing this issue is easy, but requires the assistance of someone with access to the schools Google Apps for Education control panel.

When Classroom is enabled for a domain, a Google Group called "Classroom Teachers" is automatically created. Membership in this group is what separates a student from a teacher. Direct access to this group is available here: classroom.google.com/teacher-group.

***WARNING: DO NOT DELETE YOUR "CLASSROOM TEACHER" GROUP!!!!!***** If you do, you will break Google Classroom. As of September 9, 2014, there is NO FIX for this issue. A surprising number of schools did delete their classroom teacher group and are unable to use Classroom. If this is your situation, follow this thread to be notified of a fix.

The default setting for Google Classroom is to allow anyone who is a member or pending member of this Google group to create a class. If this setting is unchanged, if a student were to say they were a teacher when they first use classroom, they will be able to create courses until they are rejected from the Classroom Teacher group.
It is recommended that schools change the access setting to "Verified Teachers Only" to avoid this potential issue. If this change is made, please ensure that all of your faculty members are a member of the "Classroom Teacher" group. If you have an organizational unit (OU) for your staff, you can easily move them into this group.

7 comments:

  1. When my students turn in work through Google Classroom, I am receiving two copies of the assignment. One is going into the folder that Classroom created and I'm getting another copy in my Shared (Incoming) folder. I don't want these in my Shared folder. How can I stop that from happening?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Im a student who hit teacher can i change it

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The IT director at your school will need to follow the steps in this post to re-set your permissions back to "student."

      Delete
  3. I have a student who chose the teacher role, and this is before I added teachers in the classroom-teacher group. How should I reverse the students choice?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Maureen! You will need to find the student and remove him/her from the "Classroom Teacher" Google Group.

      Delete
  4. How do I add an OU to the Classroom Teacher group?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hey Tiffany! It's not very obvious. Check out this animated GIF: http://goo.gl/pudTbT

      Delete

Thanks for contributing to my blog. I enjoy being a part of the conversation and do my best to respond to comments and questions that are posted.